SolangeBadGirls

It’s no surprise that I have a celebrity crush on Solange Knowles. Out of the two Knowles sisters, who wouldn’t prefer the quirky one with the good sense of style and superb afro over the beauty queen—although ‘Yonce is stepping her game up. Later this month, I have the honor of seeing the younger Knowles sister play a sold-out concert at Webster Hall in the Lower East Side of Manhattan and I’m overly stoked. In preparation of the show, I’ve been stretching my vocal chords in order to hit each note in “Bad Girls”.

“Bad Girls” is the best album closer that I’ve wholeheartedly enjoyed in a long time. Its funk filled baseline and the hard hitting percussion gives it an 80’s R&B feel that sets itself a part from anything going on in pop music. The good folks at Black Cab Sessions recently recorded a session where she sings a stripped down version of the song with her True EP collaborator and producer Devonte Hynes. The song is a perfect match to the scenery that surrounds them as they drive aimlessly through the city.

February 25th can’t come soon enough.

