It’s been three months since I stepped foot on New York soil and today it finally hit me that I’m a certified New Yorker. During a train ride heading to Soho, I happened to look outside of my window and there was another train going the same direction as ours, but was a little bit slower. The best way to describe it is a slight feeling of weightlessness, but only in terms perception, not physical. I remember the first time I saw this happen my jaw had dropped with awe and amazement, but this time around I just smiled and continued reading my book. It was this moment that I thought, “Wow, Nico. You are no longer a tourist, you have now become now become dissolved into normalcy.”

With this new sense of identity, I found it upon myself to start spurting out ignorant declarations that made me seem like a longtime New Yorker. I would make statements like “Brooklyn is the new Manhattan”. In any conversation about New York, I would find someway to stick this phrase in between my sentence like a nice slice of ham in a Cuban.

What amazed me was that people agreed. Brooklyn was the new Manhattan. When outsiders—a new term I use for non New Yorkers—cross the bridge into the tri-state area Brooklyn is now the destination of choice. Manhattan has become too touristy and snobby for most inhabitants and the realness of Brooklyn is preferred.

But with great power comes great responsibility.
Brooklyn now has the pleasure of having their own basketball team with the Brooklyn Nets. The Barclay’s Center, the home of the Nets, has taken over Atlantic Avenue and it has brought some problems with it. Before I begin my rant, I believe the Barclay Center is amazing for Brooklyn. It is going to bring tons of moolah in, small businesses around may get a huge bump in terms of business and it gives citizens of Brooklyn a team to call their own.

The problems I see with it though is that it is going to make Brooklyn less accessible. It is now going to become a cash cow and prices are going to skyrocket.  Living in Brooklyn is going to be expensive. Walking down the streets of Brooklyn, I felt bad for the home owners around there because during game time and any major sporting or concert event, finding parking across from your own home is going to be ri-dic-u-lous.  Although, it would be great if the move into Brooklyn would benefit small business owners. I know in my heart that most likely these business are going to be bought off, by larger corporations and the suburban feel that you get from Brooklyn will likely dissipate.

In the end who am I? I just came from Atlanta to Brooklyn and now I’m trying to start an anti-urbanization of Brooklyn?

Shame on me.

