“God is a concept by which we measure our pain.” These are words famously sung by the working class hero himself John Lennon.

 

God, religion and spirituality are touchy subjects to this day, but I can only imagine—no pun intended—the kind of shockwaves that formed when this song was created. Lennon goes on to list other things he doesn’t believe in: magic, Kennedy, Hitler, Jesus, Elvis, Zimmerman, The Beatles, but ends the series with “I just believe in me. Yoko and me.”

 

I am firm believer of God and Jesus. I don’t believe anything in life is chance or just happens. The world around us is too perfect not be created by a higher power. With that being said I’ve lost faith in the church, due to the fact that it was created by man and anything that a human touches is corrupt. There have been too many news stories about hidden secrets within church that just turns me off from wanting to be a part of it. I told my sister this and she slightly agreed with me, but went on to say that the institution of church is meant to a place where one can hear the word of God and commune with like-minded people.

With that being said, I just feel like I couldn’t be in the same room as hypocrites. Not to say that I’m perfect, but you see people going out on Saturday nights drinking and doing all sorts of ungodly things and the next day their passing out pamphlets to save the sinners from the world.

 

Celebrities. I used to believe in them too, but I learned that it is pointless. I should only believe in me. Kanye doesn’t care about Nico, so why should I care about what Kanye does or say. He’s just a normal human being like myself. That goes for every politician, celebrity or anyone.  I don’t believe in anyone, except myself.

 

Here comes the inception part of this rant.  Although I strictly believe in myself, I still believe in the quote I heard from Deepak Chopra in which he says, “You are not the drop in the ocean, but the ocean in the drop.” This statement means that I am not a separate entity in the universe; the universe and myself are one. There is no separation. There is only one and that is we.

 

I took a journey to Saint Thomas Church, located at the corner of 53rd Street and 5th Avenue in Manhattan. The architectural was splendiferous and it is odd to know that the church was founded nearly 200 hundred years ago. Walking into the church, gravity takes control over your jaw and you are in awe of everything around you.

 

During my first week in New York, I went into St. Patrick’s Cathedral, which isn’t too far from where this church stands and prayed that God would take care of me during this new venture in my life. Going to St. Thomas’ reminded me of my journey and gave me a boost of energy to know that I can make it in New York.

 

