BeachHouse

There are two types of music listeners in the world. There are those who eat up everything that said music blog is crushing on and then there are those who are anti-hypebeasts and purposely go out of their way to dislike anything that is seen as “in” and then there’s me. I float aimlessly around the middle. I frequently check music websites like Pitchfork and Stereogum to confirm my already impeccable taste in music– I’m kidding, slightly–but ever so often I may have a void in my musical heart. That does not mean that I am going to start panting for any album that Pitchfork deems worthy to review as higher than an 8.0, which is the reason why I’ve never listened to Danny Brown and only know how to spell Ty Segall because you don’t see names like that everywhere.

There are times where I beat myself up for being so stubborn to join the hypebeast bandwagon. A current example is with Beach House’s new album Bloom. I am in no way new to the sounds of Beach House. I’m a big fan of their last album Teen Dream because it helped me fall asleep with ease, which I swear is a compliment. I’ve known that their new album Bloom has been released for a while, but was hesitant on listening to it because I didn’t want to ruin a good thing. I already had a great album with Teen Dream that I could listen to continuously and would take me to my own dream world. What if this Bloom album is terrible and ruins my relationship with their previous album so much that I never want to listen to them again?

No, I’m not over reacting.

These are thoughts that go through my head.

One day at work though, I couldn’t help but enjoy a song that one of my co-workers were playing through the office speakers. Two taps of my iPhone and a few second later Shazaam verified that it was in fact “The Hours” by Beach House that had just satisfied my musical thirst.

Five hours later– because I couldn’t just leave work– I got on my computer and started downloading it. I was happily disappointed that Bloom didn’t compare to Teen Dream’s lullaby music.  I could listen to the full album fully awake!

Although, I’m in love with every single track on the album, the stand out song has to be “New Year”.  The angelic harmonies in the beginning fused with the repetitive staccato chords puts the listener into a trance until the beat drops and the vision becomes clear. “All I wanted comes in colors, vanish everyday,” sings lead singer Victoria Legrand. Repetition is the tool used that makes each chord progression seem brand new, yet gives the listener a déjà vu moment.

I don’t want to spoil the rest of the album for you, but Bloom surpasses Teen Dream by leaps and bounds. Sonically, the sound doesn’t waver, but it hits harder than any of their previous entries.

