On Thursday, January 24, 2013, sometime near midnight, the great people at Golden Voice finally released the 2013 lineup for one of the most anticipated festival in North America: Coachella. A lineup that is filled with some of my personal favorites like the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Vampire Weekend, the XX, Passion Pit, Beach House, and the list goes on and on. A three-day weekend of musical bliss, who could ask for more?

 

It has the right formula for amazingness to ensue, but I can’t stay excited for too long though, because every year is like déjà vu. It’s comparable to watching a Charlie Brown holiday special.  You anticipate it before it comes on television, but once it airs you remember how everything plays out and the magic disappears each time you watch it.

 

Now that I think about it, my relationship with Coachella is worse than just watching a Charlie Brown holiday special, it’s like being in one; more specifically the Great Pumpkin Halloween special.

 

Each year, I sit in front of my computer screen waiting for the Great Coachella festival to rise out of the Internet and hand me tickets. He only visits the screens that are most sincere and this year I’ve made sure that my screen has nothing but sincerity as far as the eye can see. The only problem is that I do the same thing each year and miss out. I’ve never been able to travel to Indio, California, and enjoy the desert sun with the other sweat-drenched hipsters.

 

Last year, some people told me to give up and my hopes of ever going to the festival were stupid and to them I said, “STUPID? What do you mean “stupid”? Just wait till next year, Charlie Brown. You’ll see! Next year at this same time, I’ll find a computer screen that is real sincere and I’ll sit at that computer screen until the Great Coachella appears. He’ll rise out of that computer screen and he’ll fly through the air with his bag of tickets. The Great Coachella will appear and I’ll be waiting for him! I’ll be there! I’ll be sitting there on that computer screen… and I’ll see the Great Coachella. Just wait and see, Charlie Brown. I’ll see that Great Coachella. I’ll SEE the Great Coachella! Just you wait, Charlie Brown. The Great Coachella will appear and I’ll be waiting for him…”

 

It’s going to be this year!

lineup-poster.original
